The Knoxville Jazz Orchestra is a 501 (c) 3 non-profit corporation founded in 1999 by trumpeter, arranger and composer Vance Thompson. The mission of the organization is to promote jazz music through performance and education. The group is governed by an independent board of directors comprised of local leaders who are passionate about jazz.

2015 directors

Sheena McCall - chair
Don Hough - secretary
Ben McMurry - treasurer
William S. Rukeyser - past chair

Bill Arant
Elizabeth Batchelor
Jan Bechtel
Randy Burleson
Barbara Crist
Cindy Hassil
Christopher Hill
Hallerin Hilton Hill
Richard Ince
Tammy Kaousias
Robert Kirk
Eddie Mannis
Melinda Meador
Ellen Robinson
Tom Shaw
Steve Wachter
John Winemiller
Tim Young